South Okanagan Similkameen Rural Corridor Community Coalition

SOS Div of Family Practice logo
In October, 2015, the Joint Standing Committee on Rural Healthcare Issues organized a meeting to launch an initiative to establish sustainable and patient-focused healthcare in the South Okanagan Similkameen (SOS) Rural Corridor, i.e. Keremeos, Oliver, Osoyoos, and Princeton. SOHC was invited to participate in this meeting that was attended by elected officials, healthcare professionals, IH administrators, and other leaders from the four communities. The meeting was chaired by Aarin Frigon, Project Coordinator for the SOS Division of Family Practice.

Subsequent to the initial meeting, the group met several times to develop priorities and an action plan. Out of those meetings, two groups were formed, the SOS Rural Corridor Community Coalition and the SOS Rural Corridor Physicians Coalition. As a member of the Coalition, SOHC is working with representatives from the four communities to combine existing strengths and resources in an effort to improve the delivery of healthcare services for SOS residents.

To provide SOS Rural Corridor residents with information on the workings of the Community Coalition, it has been determined that the minutes from the meetings should be made public. To read the minutes of the October 25, 2016 meeting, please click on the following link:

Rural Corridor Community Coalition Oct 2016 minutes