Our AGM was held on January 20, 2019. The following people were elected to the 2019 Board of Directors:

President – Ed Staples
Vice President – Bill Day
Secretary – Nienke Klaver
Treasurer – Jon Bartlett
Directors – Lynn Wells, Rika Reubsaat, and Frank Turner 

SOHC 2019 Board

A few highlights from ‘Our Year in Review’

Research Projects:

  • SOHC participated in a research study exploring community level recruitment and retention of health professionals in rural BC communities. This research is part of the Rural Evidence Review project at UBC Vancouver and involved several communities in the BC Rural Health Network.
  • Kathy Rush and Michael Chiasson (UBCO researchers) shared a Summary of Findings and Key Activities from the research they conducting into theEntrepreneurial Activities of Citizen-Led Coalitions in Supporting Rural Older Adults in Healthcare. SOHC was one of the participants in this research project.
  • Members of the SOHC Executive attended the Rural Health Services Research Conference in Nelson, May 30 – June 1. Of great interest was the presentation by Jude Kornelsen on the Rural Catchment Project: Strengthening local evidence through a catchment methodology that outlined concerns about the organization of geopolitical areas that do not necessarily reflect the natural population catchments of rural communities
  •  In July, SOHC attended a Group Community Meeting at Princeton General Hospital as part of the BC Rural Site Visits Program conducted by the Rural Coordination Centre of BC. The purpose of the meeting was to gather information on the healthcare service challenges in our community.

  • National Pharmacare Campaign:In September, SOHC collected over 600 signatures on a petition supporting the creation of a Canadian Pharmacare system as proposed by the Parliamentary All Party Health Committee. The petition was submitted to parliament through our MP, Dan Albas
  • British Columbia Rural Health Network:SOHC has been actively involved in the  BC Rural Health Network over the past year. Ed Staples was chosen as the  Chair of the BCRHN (https://bcrhn.ca)
  • South Okanagan Similkameen Rural Healthcare Community Coalition:SOHC continues its involvement in the Coalition. The Coalition involves the communities of Osoyoos, Oliver, Keremeos, and Princeton and comprises representatives from healthcare practitioners, municipal government, First Nations, Interior Health, allied health, and additional community organizations
  • Community Health Care Education:Under the direction of Lynn Wells, the Princeton and District Health Directory was completed and distributed in the community.
    jpg SOHC logo


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *